Thirty-two West Virginia mining operations were recognized for stellar safety efforts in 2008 during the West Virginia Coal Association’s 36th Annual Mining Symposium on Thursday.  Coal Association President Bill Raney presented the awards.

“Our companies strive to meet the highest standards of safety.” Raney stated.  “The award winners are fantastic examples of our industry-wide commitment to safety. They are all to be commended for the hard work they put in making sure their operations are as safe as possible.” 

Raney said Phoenix Coal-MAC Mining’s Holden 22 surface mine in Mingo County, an Arch Coal subsidiary, took the top honor for surface mines, claiming the Bart B. Lay, Jr. Milestones of Safety Award. Consolidated Coal Company’s Blacksville E2 mine in Monongalia County claimed the first annual Eustace Frederick Milestones of Safety Award for underground mines.  

“Both Phoenix Coal-MAC and Consol have taken steps above and beyond what is required by state and federal regulations,” Raney said. “ They are the truly dedicated to the safety of their employees, and they are greatly deserving of this award.” 

The West Virginia Coal Association’s Mountaineer Guardian Awards are presented each year to mining companies that have demonstrated a commitment to safety standards.  Inspectors for the West Virginia Office of Mine Health Safety and Training nominate companies based on numerous criteria.  

The companies receiving Mountaineer Guardian Awards for 2008 are listed on the following pages.  For additional information, contact Bill Raney, Chris Hamilton or T.L. Headley at (304) 342-4153.

All Award Winners 2008


International Coal Group        Upshur County        Imperial Mine
Eastern Associated Coal        Monongalia County        Federal #2
Brooks Run Mining Co.         McDowell County        Cucumber Mine
Elk Creek Mining Coal, Inc.        Boone County            Castle Mine
Aracoma Coal Coal. Inc.         Logan County            Hernshaw Mine
Laurel Creek Coal, Inc.         Mingo County            No. 1 Mine
Brooks Run  Mining Company, LLC    Webster County        Poplar Ridge #1
Pocahontax Coal Company,        Raleigh County        Josephine No. 2


Oxford Mining Company        Brooke County        Crosscreek
Extra Energy Inc.            McDowell County        Castus Ridge
Simmons Fork Mining, Inc.         Wyoming County         Paynter Branch
Hobet Mining LLC            Boone County            West Ridge
Premium Energy LLC            Mingo County            Surface Mine 2
Phoenix Coal-MAC Inc.         Mingo County            Phoenix Surface #4
Simmons Fork Mining, Inc.         Raleigh County         Ewing Fork, No. 1
International Coal Group                     Webster County        Birch River Surface

Preparation Plants

International Coal Group – Beckley LC    Upshur        Sawmill Run Prep. Plant
Kepler Processing Co., LLC             Wyoming    Kepler No. 1 Prep Plant
Mingo Logan Coal Company            Logan        Cardinal Prep Plant
Pine Ridge Coal Company            Boone         Big Mountain Prep Plant
Rockspring Development Inc.         Wayne     Camp Creek Plant
Patriot Coal                    Boone         Harris Plant
ICG Eastern LLC                Webster    Birch River Plant
Brooks Run Mining Co.             Webster    Erbacon Plant
Internatonal Coal Group, Beckley LLC    Raleigh    Beckley Pocahontas
Kingston Resources, Inc.             Fayette        Kingston Processing
Maple Coal Company                Fayette        Maple Prep Plant.
Fola Coal Company                Clay         Peach Orchard Prep Plant

J.F. Allen Company                     
Aggregates Quarry

Independent Contractor      
Powell ConstructionStatewide Powell Construction

West Virginia Coal Association - PO Box 3923 - Charleston, WV 25339 | 304-342-4153 | website developed by brickswithoutstraw