Reorganization of MSHA District 4

Kevin Stricklin, Administrator for MSHA’s Coal Mine Health & Safety Division, addressed WVCA’s Mine Safety Committee in Charleston this week and provided an update on organizational and personnel matters.

MSHA’s District 4 will be divided into two districts with a new MSHA District 12 will be created.  Mt. Hope, Mt. Carbon, Summersville and Uneeda will remain with District 4 out of Mt. Hope and the Princeton, Logan and Pineville offices will be merged into District 12.

The new district will eventually be housed in a new facility but for the interim will operate out of the current Pineville MSHA Office and possibly the Mine Academy in Beckley.

Charlie Carpenter will succeed Bob Hardman, who is leaving his post as District Manager of District 4 this summer and Tim Watkins will be the District Manager for District 12.  Carpenter worked for Consol in Northern WV before joining MSHA.  He’s a former Field Office Supervisor in Alabama and is currently working out of Arlington on special safety projects and petitions. Watkins has been with MSHA for 20 years and was recently an ADM in District 6 in Pikeville KY;  he also worked in the agency’s technical support and ventilation division.

Additionally, Link Self will remain with District 4 and Luther Marrs will be reassigned to District 12.  Existing District 4 personnel will likely be given an opportunity to be reassigned to District 12.